I can remember my parents telling me as a child that one day I was going to have to grow up and become a responsible adult. As a child I figured that meant I wasn’t going to be able to go out and ride my bike or play with my friends anymore and that it probably meant I was going to have to get a job, work a lot, get a wife, have some children and become boring (the way that most kids see their parents). I thought if that is what responsible is, then I don’t want anything to do with it. But Winston Churchill said, “The price of greatness is responsibility.” So being responsible can’t be all that bad, right?

Every human on the face of the earth has responsibilities. Responsibility is multifaceted. Do you consider yourself a responsible person? Or do you find it to be a quality that is obvious as you grow older? I found a list of questions that could help reflect on responsibility.

True False  
I do what needs to be done.
     
I am reliable and dependable.
     
I am accountable for my actions; I don’t make excuses or blame others.
     
I fulfill my moral obligations.
     
I use good judgment and think through the consequences of my action.
     
I exercise self-control.

 Copyright Elkind+Sweet Communications / Live Wire Media.
Reprinted by permission. Copied from http://www.GoodCharacter.com.

There are different areas of responsibility in our lives. 

Moral responsibility to people and the places we live, conducting ourselves in a manner that is right.

Legal responsibility to the laws and ordinances of your community, state, and country. Even when we don’t agree with them we have a responsibility to uphold them.

Family responsibility means treating those in your family with love and respect.

Community responsibility ensures you are responsible to those in your community to be an active citizen.

Personal Responsibility means it’s up to you to become a person of good character. Your parents, teachers, and other leaders will guide you, but only you can determine the kind of person you are and ultimately become. So get organized, be punctual, and honor your commitments. As Christians this is done by the power of the Holy Spirit living in us.

I want you to think about responsibility and the role it plays in your life and the lives of others. How can Christians use the knowledge they have of the six pillars of Character Counts to make a connection with someone in their school or place of business?

I want to leave you with a couple of questions to help you reflect on responsibility. Please leave your comments here or on our Facebook page.

Do you consider it important for your friends and family members to be responsible? Why?

Think about somebody you know who is very responsible. How does that person demonstrate responsibility? Does that make you respect him/her more?

What is the relationship between blaming and responsibility?

