Day 2 of the journey through the Gospel of Mark. Read through chapters 4-6, watch the video and hear from Pastor Ron his thoughts and then add your own thoughts.

I have a few random thoughts that I would like to add on chapters 4-6 that caused me to stop and pause.

Jesus teaches everything in parables, so that “they may indeed see but not perceive, and may indeed hear but not understand, lest they should turn and be forgiven.”  I wrote a blog piece about this a number of weeks ago, but it still catches me off guard because I wonder why Jesus doesn’t just tell them plainly.

I like the question the disciples ask at the end of Chapter 4. “Who then is this, that even the wind and sea obey him?” Jesus is way bigger than they can wrap their puny little minds around. I constantly have to remind myself that Jesus is way bigger than my mind can handle also.

The end of chapter 4 and all of chapter 5 Jesus shows that he has power over the elements, demons, sickness and death itself. What a wonderful reminder that Jesus has all control and power and I can trust him with my life with all the little problems and occurrences.

Chapter 6 Jesus is rejected in his hometown. But it was a slow process. Jesus speaks and people are amazed, but then it is almost as if they just realize, wait a second this guy can’t have authority because he is like us. “Where did this man get these things? What is the wisdom given to him? Is not this the carpenter…” A prophet is not without honor in his own hometown. People simply can’t get over who they think Jesus is. Do you get caught up in the familiar things of Jesus, only to miss the boat on who or what he is trying to say? I know it is very easy.

The John the baptist story sticks out. The story is moving along quickly until Mark mentions John the Baptist dying which he feels is an important part of the story. Herod is a little freaked out that Jesus might be John the Baptist back from the dead, who was killed by his order. Has the “Holy Man” come back to seek revenge? Interesting story!

Jesus feeds the 5,000 which is a cool story, but what stuck out to me again was the story that followed it. The disciples are out on the boat, Jesus was up on the mountain praying in solitude and he comes out on the water and just starts walking on it. The story is familiar but what stood out was when it said, “He meant to pass by them…” What was Jesus doing? He was out there walking on water and it is not just to show off in front of his disciples. He was out taking a stroll on the lake. Wow!

These are my thoughts, what are yours?

Look forward to hearing back from you.

