We are saved by faith in Jesus Christ. His sacrifice paid the price of our atonement. We were bought back from sin and the power of the devil. This has all been done for us and it was nothing that we deserved. It is easy to talk about the freedom that we have from sin and death; we celebrate it every Sunday. The problem that exists is that we still have sin that likes to hang around with us still. It would be nice to believe that we confess our sin once, receive forgiveness, and then we are clean, free, without sin forever and we can be perfect today until the day Jesus returns. The fact of the matter is that we struggle with sin still today. We are never at a place where we are free from our Savior.

Listen to the frustration in the Apostle Paul’s words in Romans 7:14-16 (MSG)

“I can anticipate the response that is coming: “I know that all God’s commands are spiritual, but I’m not. Isn’t this also your experience?” Yes. I’m full of myself—after all, I’ve spent a long time in sin’s prison. What I don’t understand about myself is that I decide one way, but then I act another, doing things I absolutely despise. So if I can’t be trusted to figure out what is best for myself and then do it, it becomes obvious that God’s command is necessary.”

I just have to say it because it is the way I feel. SIN SUCKS! Yes, I wrote it in all caps and bold because whether it is my sin or the sins of others, it causes hurt, pain and more brokenness in our world. Almost everyday I see the disaster that is left after sinful acts are carried out. My heart grows tired and weary of the constant sight of it. This can easily lead me or others to despair.

We still live this side of heaven and will continue to struggle with our sinful nature. The sinful nature that leads me to do the things “I absolutely despise.” What then shall we do with this mess? This could lead all people to either be utterly lost in hopelessness or grow apathetic to sin and the sinful nature. Paul also gets to this point in 7:24,

“I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question?”

Is that the question you are asking at this point? We can come to our wits end and find that we have no power over any of this stuff in our life. Honestly we don’t have the strength to carry this out alone. Maybe we need to hear how Paul resolves this issue. Romans 7:25,

“The answer, thank God, is that Jesus Christ can and does. He acted to set things right in this life of contradictions where I want to serve God with all my heart and mind, but am pulled by the influence of sin to do something totally different.”

Perhaps we all need to be reminded that we are not alone in our struggle and that we should not give up. The ultimate victory is still ours in Christ. At our very nature we must constantly rely on our Savior. He alone has the strength and power over sin and the devil. It is a life devoted to the Savior, not just one moment, but a whole life lived relying on Jesus.

How have you dealt with this struggle to do what is right but being drawn to sin?

How can we be resistant of temptation? How can we consistently strive to do the right thing?

Look forward to hearing from you. Have a great day!

