In yesterday’s post I talked about the many songs that have been written in tribute to mothers. I wanted to share one of those songs with you today from the group Boys II Men. The song is called “A Song for Mama.” Just in case you didn’t hear the lyrics I wanted to show you the first few lines of the lyrics.

You taught me everything
Everything you’ve given me
I’ll always keep it inside
You’re the driving force in my life, yeah

There isn’t anything
Or anyone that I could be
And it just wouldn’t feel right
If I didn’t have you by my side

You were there for me to love and care for me
When skies were gray
Whenever I was down
You were always there to comfort me

If you were to write your mom a song or a piece of poetry dedicated to her, what would you include? Some of you maybe didn’t have a mom around. Was there someone else who filled in for her that you would write a song to? Would the words be any different?

For those of you with moms still around (either close by or around the globe) celebrate them today. If your mom has passed remember her with a prayer and share her story of legacy with someone close to you.

Happy Mother’s Day!

