Perspective 1- Barb Miles

I seem to be impatient with Chapter 5.  It didn’t take long for the Israelites to lose their faith in God.  They wanted their lives to move faster.  Why was God willing to give them chance after chance?  Exodus 32:7

Aaron excused their behavior, collected their gold items and created a false god.  Moses was on the mountain at this time for forty days and nights.  Why did Aaron do that?  Exodus 32:22-26

They were struck down with a plague because of the gold calf Aaron had made.  Exodus 32:35  Were plagues a form of correction, like if they would not listen to God, then the outcome was assumed to be a plague?  So did the Israelites think about that before they gave up on Moses?

Perspective 2- Pastor Ron

“…then out of all the nations you will be my treasured possession.  Although the whole earth is mine, you will be for me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation.”  (Exodus 19:5b-6)

Theses words from God that Moses is to say to the people really jumped out at me when I read the fifth chapter of The Story.  Just let them sink in for a minute……treasured possession……..the whole earth is mine, you will be for me.   It is hard to imagine the impact those words would have on the people if they truly understood them, if they would focus on God instead of themselves.  God has singled them out from all of creation, from all of the other nations, in spite of their continued sinfulness.  Yet, when you continue to read the story you get the impression that either they have short memories or they didn’t get it in the first place.  Moses is taking too long on the mountain so they take matters into their own hands and have Aaron cast a golden calf, a god they can see and touch.  A god that will give them what they want, a quick fix to a complicated situation.  It almost seems unreal to me that they could do such a thing.  Then of course, I think of myself.  Did not God say to me; “God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son…” Those are pretty powerful words as well.  The God of the universe would give up his one and only son for me.  He was willing to do that, then certainly everything else in life will fall into place according to his plan.  Ahhh, but not quite fast enough for me sometimes.  So I take matters into my own hands, come up with my own solutions, and now I wonder…have I constructed my own gods?

The take away for me as a first impression of the chapter is that I want to keep my eyes and ears open to the love and grace that God exhibits in my life.  To be constantly aware that He wants to have community with me and that He has a plan for me in the same way he had a plan for the Israelites.

Perspective 3- Dan Petrak

Perspective 4- Jade Miller

In Chapter 5 of The Story, God showed his incredible patience with His people. The Israelites broke His laws several times not long after He freed them from Egypt. At first, the Israelites agreed to consecrate themselves at the base of the mountain for God’s coming. When God came, they were filled with wonder and followed Moses’ rules for a little while. However, once Moses went up on Mount Sinai to speak with God, the wonder the Israelites experienced soon wore off, and they had Aaron build a golden calf for them to worship.

God is still incredibly patient with all of us today.  I sin so many times that I lose count, and sometimes I sin even without realizing it. God knows that I can never be perfect, and He is always willing to forgive me when I apologize. I want God’s forgiveness to help me remember to forgive others when they hurt me. God said “I am holy, therefore you are to be holy” (pg. 70). I’m always amazed by God’s outpouring of love, and I want to be as loving as He is.

