The Reflection for this week is by Karen Kennedy. She has contributed to this blog before, so please enjoy!

The beginning of chapter 8 of “The Story” was brutal.  In fact, I stopped reading it three times, hoping that something would engage my mind.

And it didn’t. The never-ending cycle of the Israelites doing evil in the eyes of the Lord followed by a short stint of pleasing the Lord, tired my mind.

I even contemplated buying the audio version, so that someone could read it to me!

Finally, I promised myself to wade (or skim) through it to see if there was a gem or two.

And finally the Lord’s discourse with Gideon grabbed my heartstrings:

If you recall, Gideon had the resources of an incredible mighty army. By the five senses, this would be a sound business practice. Isn’t that what we are supposed to do, build up resources, get an unfair advantage over our competitors and drive them into the ground? Sounds logical and wise to me.

However, God had a different plan.

“You have too many men. I cannot deliver Midian into their hands, or Israel would boast against me, ‘My own strength has saved me.’ Now announce to the army, ‘ Anyone who trembles with fear may turn back and leave Mount Gilead.” So, twenty-two thousand men left, while ten thousand remained.

What? I wondered what Gideon thought at this point. But the story even gets more interesting when God whittles the army to only 300 men.

And to make matters worse, their opponent is described as “thick as locusts. Their Camels could no more be counted than the sand on the seashore.”

Obviously the odds are stacked high against Gideon. And through a series of events, Gideon musters up the courage to lead his army to this battleground and then commands them to blow their trumpets and break the jars that were in their hands.

This story is getting weirder by the minute, and I am finally in! God’s odds are better than any preconceived arsenal that I may have in my back pocket.

This shouldn’t surprise me, after all, doesn’t God tell me to lean on him, to not trust in the flesh, but to trust in him? Count me in on this roll call (or until I get off the path like the Israelites did.) What looked like a train wreck waiting to happen, ended with God (once again) doing the work he could only do.

Have you been trying to work the impossible in your life all by yourself? At what point in time will you find that you don’t have what it takes? Have you taken the time to go to God in prayer? Have you asked a fellow Christian to walk with you in these moments? I encourage you to do it, today.

