Kings

Perspective 1- Kelsey Rath

While reading chapter 12 in the story the part that spoke to me was when it said…  Then David said to Nathan,” I have sinned against the Lord.”  Unlike Saul, David didn’t make excuses for his sin. Right there when it said David didn’t make excuses for his sin, it made me think… Have I ever made excuses to hide my sin? Am I like Saul in that case? Well the answer is yes. No one is a perfect human being so we tend to think oh I won’t get in trouble if I just try to hide my sin. Are you that kind of person? Or are you like David—not afraid of the consequences that come when you sin?

Perspective 2- Barb Miles

One of the discussion questions for this chapter brought me to compare how David was different from Saul.  They sinned in different ways.  Saul made excuses for his sins.  David asked the Lord for forgiveness of his sins.  Even though they both sinned, one treated the Lord with respect by asking for forgiveness and the other one didn’t see his own faults.

Which kind of Christian am I?  Is it easier to take a sin and make an excuse for why we did it?  Take the example of getting change back from a transaction.  If I realize I have been given more than I am entitled to, do I tell the clerk, or do I just pocket the change and just say later, it was just a simple mistake!  Or, if I was part of a family estate settlement and had the choice of cutting down a sibling rather than daily praying to God to guide me, praying for His will, and to forgive me when I would say something hurtful to my siblings?

My lower story has shown me that where I let my heart lead my way, God takes care of my needs.  When I let my head lead my actions, I don’t feel worthy of His forgiveness.

Perspective 3- Dan Petrak

Perspective 4- Laura Rath

“She (Bathsheba) gave birth to a son, and they named him Solomon. The Lord loved him; and because the Lord loved him, he sent word through Nathan the prophet to name him Jedidiah.” (Jedidiah means “loved by the Lord.”) – The Story pg. 166 (2 Samuel 12:24-25)

I’m reminded of Jeremiah 31:34b:

“For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”

David sinned against the Lord when he slept with Bathsheba, had her husband killed, and then took her for his wife. But when confronted by Nathan, the prophet, David confessed his sin, accepted the consequences of that sin, and received God’s forgiveness.

God forgave David and remembered his sin no more.

God could have forgiven David, but then fulfilled His plan through someone else. But He didn’t. His plan continued with David and Bathsheba when He blessed them with a son—Solomon, continuing the lineage to Jesus.

