Dark-Days-screen-one

Perspective 1- Laura Rath

The Book of Isaiah is one of my favorites, so I was kind of excited to see him appear in this chapter. Isaiah is a faithful man living in the dark days and God chooses him to be a prophet. And not just in a “Hey, Isaiah, are you busy?” kind of way. No, God comes to him in a vision…and He brings along His seraphim, praising Him all the while.

Isaiah knows he’s unworthy and immediately calls out to the Lord.

Do you know the saying, “God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called?” He certainly qualified Isaiah! A live coal to Isaiah’s mouth and the words, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.”

Not only did God cleanse Isaiah of his sin, but He captured Isaiah’s heart.

Just a few lines before, Isaiah cried out, “Woe to me! I am ruined!” But when God asks, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” Isaiah’s answer is completely different…

“Here am I. Send me!”

Perspective 2- Dan Petrak

Perspective 3- Barb Miles

When Hezekiah became king, he led the people by destroying their idols and the Asherah poles.  But because he was leading by following God, he wasn’t popular with the king of Assyria, who was leading the abandoned Israelites. The king of Assyria tried to persuade the people of Judah not to trust Hezekiah, by saying that Hezekiah could not deliver what he was promising.

In our Lower Story how many times have we been heckled or enticed to not trust God  and not follow His commandments?  Have I given in to sin?  Of course I have.  I remember going back into the workforce when I needed to support my family financially.  At first I was so shy, then as I was given different assignments though the different departments of a bank, I wondered why I was the one given the opportunities over others.  Other coworkers felt they were being passed over and didn’t understand why I was being given these opportunities.  Work relationships became strained, I didn’t pray to God for guidance.  So out of my own insecurity and lack of trust in God I became just like them.  I told a false story about a coworker.  This particular experience taught me so much about leaning on God for guidance.  His strength and my relationship with Him through prayer is all I need. Imagine how strong Hezekiah had to be to stand up against the king of Assyria and his false accusations!

Perspective 4- Pastor Ron

There is more to Isaiah than Christmas and Lent!  Whenever I think of the prophet Isaiah I think of the prophesy that foretold of Mary’s conception of Jesus –“…The virgin will be with child and give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.” (Is. 7:14)  I also think of the “suffering servant” of Isaiah 53.  Isaiah 7 is Christmas and Isaiah 53 is Lent.  Yet, there is so much more!  This chapter was a good reminder of the richness of the prophet and a reminder that he did have the opportunity to interact with a good king who heeded his advice.  Hezekiah would have never had the courage to stand up to the Assyrian king on his own.  With Isaiah assuring him of God’s protection he did not flinch when Sennacherib tried to intimidate him.

Isaiah did have the unfortunate job of informing Judah that they, like their northern counter parts, would be carried off to captivity.  At the same time, some of the greatest Gospel promises are contained in the pages in this part of the story!

Isaiah is much, much more than Christmas and Lent!

