Exile 2

This week’s reflection is written by Karen Kennedy. She has done some work on this blog in the past and I am positive you will enjoy her thoughts today.

This chapter has intrigued me.  I keep on thinking about the concept of being exiled.  I personally have known some refugees who have come to America with only the clothes on their back. They don’t know the language and our customs. Let alone, they often have left their loved ones in their homeland. I often wonder, what would I do if I was thrown out of America? How would I react? Would I be as gracious as they are? How would I feel if I couldn’t get into my car and drive to Hy-Vee? What if a Starbucks was not accessible? What if I couldn’t get a job in my vocation? How would I react?

Well, as I ask these questions, I realize that I probably wouldn’t fare well. In fact, I like my familiar comforts so much, that I would probably not last a day. Let’s face it. It would not be pleasant if we were forced to move somewhere else. The familiar sounds, tastes, friends and family would soon become a distant memory. Everything that was familiar would become unfamiliar.

However, Daniel and his three friends show me a way that I could survive—looking up and not at my changing circumstances.

Ahhh, I get it. Throughout the Bible, God tells us to not put our treasures on things that are temporary, but to rely on him.

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.  Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.” Colossians 3:1-4

So, there is great hope in this chapter, I see a godly thread that is weaved through the scriptures—keep him at the center. Period.

Even if I were to go into Exile, an unfamiliar place, people and setting, when everything is unfamiliar I know that I have a familiar God who is with me always.

What would be the scariest thing about exile for you? What good could come from it?

