No-Ordinary-Man-screen-one

Perspective 1- Kelsey Rath

Washing your feet. We’ve all done it. (Hopefully)  But have you ever had it done by the one and only Jesus Christ? Many think of course not, but they are mistaken. Yes, God did not come over to literally wash your feet, but he did cleanse you clean. If you feel confused you’re not alone. The disciples felt the way that you do. They know that sense of confusion.

So he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. 5 After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, “Lord, are you going to wash my feet?”

 Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”

 “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.”

Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”

“Then, Lord,” Simon Peter replied, “not just my feet but my hands and my head as well!”

Jesus answered, “Those who have had a bath need only to wash their feet; their whole body is clean. And you are clean, though not every one of you.”  For he knew who was going to betray him, and that was why he said not everyone was clean.

When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.

You don’t literally need to be washed to be clean. God is how you get clean. Jesus took on flesh and blood to scrub you free of your sins. God is your washcloth, your bar of soap, or even your loofa. Whether it’s bad choices, lies, or other sins pulling you down, go to him for cleansing. Feel clean by the Lord your God.

Perspective 2- Pastor Ron

Jesus washed Judas’ feet!  I suppose I knew that before, but it never really hit me like it did when I read the chapter for this week.   Jesus knew that Judas was going to betray him and he still washed his feet.  Immediately after washing their feet he tells them that one of them will betray him.  So he knew and yet he still performed this incredible act of humbleness and servant hood.

Jesus didn’t come for some – he came for all.  When he said we should pray for our enemies Jesus goes one step further and serves his enemy.  And yet I don’t believe that Jesus would see Judas as his enemy.  The washing of his feet tells me that he saw Judas as he sees all people – a child of God that he had come to redeem.  If I continue that thought it means that Jesus came to redeem Pilate, the Pharisees, the High Priest, the crowd that sought his crucifixion, and more.  After all did he not pray that his father would forgive them as they nailed him to the cross?

I wonder if I inadvertently limit the love of God for us.  Oh, I don’t outright say that some are worthy of his grace while others are not.  Yet, the very fact that I was shocked at the revelation of Jesus washing Judas’ feet may betray a prejudice in my heart.  What about you, do you inadvertently limit God’s love?

Perspective 3- Dan Petrak 

Perspective 4- Barb Miles

The last hours of Jesus life on earth were filled with His preparation to go to be with His Father in heaven.  But His preparation did not receive much support from His disciples.  He was betrayed and questioned beyond expectations when He shared what was to be.

Jesus washed all of his disciples feet and then told them to wash each others feet. He said “no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than one who sent him.”

Jesus told the disciples about his prediction of his betrayal, only to be questioned by  them as to who would Jesus’ betrayer.

“He comforted his confused disciples” by telling them that after he had left and prepared a place for them, he would come back and take them with him.”  After Thomas and Philip questioned him, Jesus again told them that these plans he talks of are not on his own authority.  Jesus says “Believe in me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me.”

I remember Jesus’ sacrifice for me.  I believe what Jesus did for me, and I feel blessed to know the Lord’s house is prepared for all believers.  In all I do and say, thank you Lord.

