stone-walls-avila-500

I sat down to write a blog post and nothing comes to mind. I think about the current series of messages we are on and think there must be something to write about…nope!

Have you ever had one of those moments that you believe there is nothing creative left in your body?

As a congregation Gloria Dei went through a 31 week journey through God’s Word. It was a fantastic journey as we witnessed together God’s redemptive work that has been happening from the beginning of time. We personally witnessed God coming to us and speaking to our hearts through his Word and message. All good things that came from a great journey. But…

I do have to tell you though, and honestly it is not complaining or throwing a pity party, I poured a lot of myself into creating blog posts, coordinating people and making it an overall enjoyable online experience…but I was left feeling extremely drained. Which explains the reason I started his post the way I did. I have been sitting at my screen for the last three weeks, since we finished, trying to figure out what to write next. Trying to figure out how to continue to engage the reader and be creative about it. I came up with nada, nothing but a blank page with no thoughts to produce.

And so I wait…

Waiting is not easy. I always think there must be something I’ve done wrong. There must be a three-step process for me getting back on track. I don’t think it is going to be that easy.

What am I really waiting on? Am I waiting on my creativeness (yes its a word) to kick in? Is my waiting centered on me?

“Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!” Psalm 27:14

I’ve waited on my strength and power to return, but I’ve been waiting on the wrong thing. The day of Pentecost should have given me a clue, but I remained clueless. Jesus tells his disciples to wait for power that would come from on high.  When I trust in my own power I end up failing every time because I will eventually run out of energy.

So today I will wait, I will wait on God to give me the strength and courage to move in the places he would have me go.

What are you waiting for? Have you been placing too much waiting time on you and your power and not enough on God?

“But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

