I have a few strategically placed nightlights in my house. Not because I have small children, but so I don’t have to turn on the bright overhead lights if I get up in the middle of the night. While I usually prefer bright light to dim, it’s too much in the dark night. My eyes can’t adjust from darkness to bright light quickly enough. I blink and squint and shade my eyes. It’s too much light all at once, but the soft glow from the nightlight is just enough light for that moment.

God has always given light to His people. At creation…

…God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. God saw that the light was good, and he separated the light from the darkness. Genesis 1:3-4 NIV

He led the Israelites…

By day the Lord went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so that they could travel by day or night. Neither the pillar of cloud by day nor the pillar of fire by night left its place in front of the people. Exodus 13:21-22 NIV

And God gave us light in the darkness through His Son, Jesus…

I have come as a light to shine in this dark world, so that all who put their trust in me will no longer remain in the dark. John 12:46 NLT

The darkness can never extinguish the light.

When I feel surrounded by darkness, I trust the light is there. I may only be able to see a pinprick of brightness, but I know it’s there.

While I would prefer a brighter beam to guide me, God knows how much light I need for that moment. Light that’s too bright may make me squint and shade my eyes. He knows seeing too much, too soon, may distract me. But His tiny spot of light at just the right time is what I need to focus on Him.

No matter how soft or brilliant the light may seem at the time, the Light of the world can never be extinguished by the darkness.

And it’s always just enough light for that moment.

Jesus spoke to the people once more and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.” John 8:12 NLT

In Christ,
Laura
