For the past two weeks, we’ve been talking about being on mission—stepping out of our comfort zones and sharing our Christian faith with others when the opportunity presents itself.

So, how do you know if you are successful or not?

When we share our faith with others, we hope for a successful end goal of healing, coming to faith, beating the addiction, or the like. But we may never know how it turns out.

I think God looks at success differently…or maybe, not at all.

God gives us opportunities to join Him in His Kingdom work, but He doesn’t leave us to work on our own. Instead, He says He will be with us. So, success is not about us, it’s about Him.

God doesn’t call us to be successful.

He calls us to be obedient.

When God calls, we have two choices. We can either step out in faith and follow His lead, or we can do nothing and ignore the opportunity.

Which will you choose?

Jeremiah chose to follow God.

The Lord gave me this message: “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.”

 “O Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I can’t speak for you! I’m too young!”

The Lord replied, “Don’t say, ‘I’m too young,’ for you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you. And don’t be afraid of the people, for I will be with you and will protect you. I, the Lord, have spoken!” Then the Lord reached out and touched my mouth and said, “Look, I have put my words in your mouth! Jeremiah 1:4-9 NLT

Did you notice Jeremiah’s excuse?

 “O Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I can’t speak for you! I’m too young!”

Don’t we often sound the same?

I can’t talk about Jesus. I’m too…inexperienced…unqualified…shy…afraid of saying the wrong thing.

But God has an answer for our excuses.

I will be with you and I will help you. I will give you the words to speak.

And then He says, Go!

Go outside of your comfort zone.

Go from self-reliance to God-reliance.

Go where He sends you. Right here. Right now.

God had a plan for Jeremiah, and He has plans for us.

God calls us to be obedient.

And when we are obedient to Him, we are successful.

 

In Christ,
Laura
Laura Rath ~ Journey in Faith
 
