One Focus - GD

It’s that time of year when we tend to take stock of our lives. We look back at the year, and we look forward with changes in mind.

Changes we write as resolutions.

Changes that often don’t make it past January 31.

What if we skip the list of things we want to start or stop doing, and instead have a focus for the year?

One focus. Something to think and pray about throughout the year.

It might be one area God wants you to pay attention to, or one word that will shape your year. Maybe it’s one Scripture verse you want your life to reflect.

Whatever it might be, one focus is easier to remember than a list of resolutions, and it’s less frustrating because you have the entire year to ponder your focus.

If you get to February 1 and realize you haven’t been working on your resolutions, it leads to discouragement, possibly feeling like the year is already off to a failing start. But, with one focus, you can be thinking about it before it’s time for action. In fact, you might not be able to stop thinking about it, even if you’re not sure what to do with it.

How do you decide on one focus for the year? For me, I pray about it, asking God what He wants to show me, or what I need to learn. And then, I wait, and I listen.

One year, I questioned the word I felt God giving me. When I dismissed it, He gave it to me again. And again. After a few weeks, I realized He wasn’t going to let it go and I better get used to the word. Obviously, I would be in for a year of learning something, even though I didn’t know what it was yet.

This year, He’s given me two words. (Sorry, I’m not telling what they are yet.) At first, I thought it was just something going through my own thoughts. But the next day, those two words were more firmly on my mind and I realized God was answering my question of what He wanted me to focus on.

And that focus scared me a little. Well, maybe it was more than a little. I prayed about it, thinking I could still be wrong. But, no, He only gave me those two words.

Here’s the thing…if your focus doesn’t scare you a little, it’s probably not the right focus. After all, the purpose of this is personal growth and change, right? And that’s scary.

But…it can also be kind of exciting. My two words aren’t causing me to squirm anymore. I’ve accepted that this is my focus, and I’m anticipating God will be challenging me in some new ways this year.

So, are you ready to consider one focus for 2014?

For more information, you may want to Google “One Word 2014,” but be ready for more links than you probably want to explore. To narrow it down, here are two resources on the One Focus topic worth visiting:

Oneword365.com

Myoneword.org

If you are looking at one focus this year, whether it’s a word, phrase, Scripture verse, or something else, will you share it in the comment section? Let’s encourage each other this year.

 

In Christ,
Laura
Laura Rath ~ Journey in Faith
 
